Author Topic: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests  (Read 7066 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Neilaki

  • Zombie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« on: February 07, 2020, 12:58:51 PM »
Hello guys. I recently noticed some graphic artifacts while playing ac odyssey and wanted to test my gpu more (after a little more research i realized the artifacts i saw are because of the game design). After many benchmarks with various known programs and my graphics card running fine on them i tried Msi Kombustor. In every benchmark on Msi Kombustor the gpu tests fine and there is no visible artifact. But i noticed in some stress tests something that if i am not mistaken is indeed a graphic artifact https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2W8PdcxNRks&feature=youtu.be. . I am a little knew with this  and i am not sure what to make of it. Artifact scanning doesnt pick up anything there though.  The problem happens in every GL  stressterest 1080p, in some 720p it runs fine and in some others it keeps appearing . When i run the burn in mode the artifact scanning records numbers like 976314/65457386 in the first ten second that i run it. Is my gpu faulty? In most tests i use 1920x1080 resolution.
I contacted sapphire, they told me to make some  changes to adrenalin and if that wont work to contact my retailer. Some of the videos i sent them where the following
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNW223gHGwY&feature=youtu.be  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWGDxa7ZrHQ&feature=youtu.be  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iw9DrzqkS7I&feature=youtu.be in ac odyssey (the black artifacts in the 3rd video happen in any video of the game on youtube so i think its the games fault). This one happened in a game that had 2 Anti-aliasing options (MSAA and FXAA) activated at the same time(after deactivating MSAA it worked fine) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSMkBRTDDlk&feature=youtu.be
I would appreciate it if someone could help me out with this. Sorry for the long post and for any grammar or spelling mistakes

JeGX

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2587
    • Geeks3D.com
Re: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2020, 07:07:32 PM »
Try the latest Adrenalin 20.2.1 and maybe, post a youtube video of your artifacts (+artifact scanner) with MSI Kombustor...

Neilaki

  • Zombie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2020, 12:24:02 PM »
Yeah, sorry for not providing enough material. Here are some videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8h-POZIPVxo&feature=youtu.be   
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0yPNGSGUJI&feature=youtu.be
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BkGecePX33M&feature=youtu.be
All these tests are with the previous-stable adrenalin but i also installed the latest you recommended and the tests were the same. This thing at the top left (near the gl-furmark phrase) happens in almost every stresstest with Gl. Vulkan runs fine.
This happens only with the stresstest option. The benchmarks are running fine too, here is an example :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StyY6LqyLKA&feature=youtu.b
From what i can observe these glitches-artfiacts (i dont know hot to call them) happen when there is a big change in ms   in the speed category, like when its dropping from 15 to 0.5, while the benchmarks seem to go from 13-15 ms
« Last Edit: February 08, 2020, 12:32:36 PM by Neilaki »

JeGX

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2587
    • Geeks3D.com
Re: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2020, 06:49:08 PM »
In this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BkGecePX33M , the artifact scanning is wrong, it's a bug in Kombustor, I have to fix it, I didn't notice it before, sorry!

I tested the same tests with a Radeon RX 5500 XT and there is no visual glitches. But it's hard to say if your card has a hardware issue. Maybe a driver issue with the RX 5700? Maybe not related but what is your PSU? Enough power?

Neilaki

  • Zombie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2020, 07:03:29 PM »
I got a corsair Tx-650m. Its 80+ gold. I think i have enough power for my system. The full build is msi b450 gaming pro carbon, ryzen 5 3600 and corsair vengeance rgb pro. The guy  from Sapphire told me to  up the power limit to 5% in adrenalin, although it didnt change anything. I didnt send them the videos with MSI Kombustor because i didnt know if they could void the warranty for using it . I own the card for 4 months so i have time if i want to RMA the card. The only thing that comes to mind now is to keep using the card  more and if i get a noticable problem in everyday usage, to RMA the card in the future. I could send it now but if there is no problem with the card i would end up paying the costs of transporting the card which is something i want to avoid cause i live in Greece and the cost  would be a little high. And ofc there is the time that i wont be able to use my pc without the gpu  :P

JeGX

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2587
    • Geeks3D.com
Re: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2020, 06:04:34 PM »
The Corsair TX-650M looks good for your system.
Did you notice artifacts with other benchmarks like unigine heaven for example? If you have to RMA your card, be sure that artifacts are easily reproducible by sapphire.

I just saw that the VRAM stress test of Kombustor (FurMark-Donut-6500MB) doesn't work correctly. The test should load more or less 6.5GB of textures in the VRAM but on your video, only 2GB are loaded (same thing on my RX 5500 XT). I will check it.

JeGX

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2587
    • Geeks3D.com
Re: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2020, 01:06:20 PM »
I released Kombustor 4.1.5 yesterday and the VRAM stress test works now. Give it a try.

psxlover

  • Zombie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Artifacting in Some Msi Kombustor in some tests
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2020, 06:35:35 PM »
@JeGX I also see artifact like in Neilaki's video on the top left if running the Artifact Scanner in MSI Kombustor, no such issue in Furmark ROG Edition.

Also an issue I noticed with both tools, if you enable artifact scanner, run a test, then disable the artifact scanner the tests start with a static image as if the artifact scanner is still enabled (not all of them msi-01 does not seem to be affected).