Author Topic: Vulkan stress test flicker.  (Read 2502 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dorian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Vulkan stress test flicker.
« on: August 17, 2020, 01:10:42 PM »
Hi,

There is a flickering corruption on Vulkan stress demo.
I think the issue is the same as in my previous topic: https://www.geeks3d.com/forums/index.php/topic,6552.0.html

Looking at init.lua sources of test, I see single uniform buffer updated in every frame:
Code: [Select]
function update_scene(time)
  gh_camera.set_position(camera, 0, 0, 20)
  gh_camera.set_lookat(camera, 0, 0, 0, 1)
  UpdateCameraTransform(ub1, camera) 
  Update_Meshes(g_num_x, g_num_y, time)
end 

So I guess, the same fix as in tesselation demo has to be applied.

GPU is a Intel Ice Lake.

JeGX

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2591
    • Geeks3D.com
Re: Vulkan stress test flicker.
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2020, 02:03:43 PM »
Yes it's the same problem: one uniform buffer shared by several command buffers.
I will update the demo asap.

JeGX

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2591
    • Geeks3D.com
Re: Vulkan stress test flicker.
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2020, 08:50:18 PM »
I updated the Vulkan demopack with a new demo that should fix your glitch:

- Vulkan demopack: https://www.geeks3d.com/dl/show/50102

- demo: geexlab-demopack-vulkan/vk2/06-stress-test/vulkan-v2/

Tested with latest GeeXLab 0.37.0.

On a Coffee Lake GPU (core i7 8700K, UHD 630), I see no corruption (same thing for the tessellation demo). Looks like the driver for Ice Lake architecture handles Vulkan differently than Coffee Lake arch.