AMD Radeon R9 and R7 Series Graphics Cards Unveiled

AMD Radeon R9 and R7 family

AMD has officially unveiled at the GPU14 conference the next generation of Radeon graphics cards: Radeon R9 and Radeon R7. The Radeon R9 is for the high-end gaming segment while the Radeon R7 is reserved for the mainstream segment.

Radeon R9 family includes the Radeon R9 290X, R9 290, R9 280X, R9 270X and the R7 family includes the
R7 260X and R7 250.

A new audio technology called AMD TrueAudio (3D spatial audio engine) has been introduced and is supported by R9 290X, R9 290 and R7 260X cards only.

The Radeon R9 290X is the high-end and most powerful model based on a Hawaii GPU (28nm, 2816 stream processors, 176 texture units and 44 ROPs), 4GB of GDDR5 memory and a 512-bit bus interface. On the board we find one 8-pin + one 6-pin power connectors for a TDP of 270W. The R9 290X supports Direct3D 11.2 and should be launched first in few days.

AMD Radeon R9-290X board


One thought on “AMD Radeon R9 and R7 Series Graphics Cards Unveiled”

  1. Daniela


    I would like your part to equate those two series (R9, R7), with the current series (ie, series 7***) for your website audiences and beyond.
    — R9: R9 290X; R9 290; R9 280X; R9 270X
    — R7: R7 260X; R7 250

    Thx. in advance.

Comments are closed.