Author Topic: Raspberry Pi 3 as a tiny VJ platform  (Read 440 times)

Newk

• View Profile
Raspberry Pi 3 as a tiny VJ platform
« on: February 05, 2017, 12:06:22 AM »
Hi,
I'm very new at this (programming and shaders) so please bear with me.
I am very fond of the compact form-factor of the RasPi and am having this idea to experiment on it with visual effects and 3d shapes that i could control over TCP/UDP. This could be hooked to a beamer to accompany a live-set of music (with automation directly from the music software) or other arty presentations.

Now i found this wonderfull thing GeeXLab and thought this could be it.
Because Urho3D and Panda3D are full game engines and seemed too overkill for the idea and harder to learn as a programming beginner.

Only with Pure Data i had a fairly easy programming experience.. but i'm willing to get into python for GeeXLab (ofc usefull skill  in general). GEM is a visual expansion on PureData but it does not work for RasPi and is severely dated  :P .

My first questions about GeeXLab are:
Can it run without the windows manager? (no XWindows, directly from terminal)
Can the whole screen resolution show nothing but the visual programmed? i looked at the demos and they all had descriptions on screen

Thank you!

Newk
« Last Edit: February 05, 2017, 02:43:24 PM by Newk »

JeGX

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Geeks3D.com
Re: Raspberry Pi 3 as a tiny VJ platform
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 11:35:46 AM »
Can it run without the windows manager? (no XWindows, directly from terminal)
screen
I don't understand what do you mean. Do you mean you can start GeeXLab from the command line (with options)?

Can the whole screen resolution show nothing but the visual programmed? i looked at the demos and they all had descriptions on screen